Showing 1–20 of 28 results

The Best Major League Baseball (MLB) Teams of All Time

Baseball is one of the most popular sports in United States and has a long history. However, not all teams are equally good. In this article, we will take a look at the best MLB teams of all time and see which team made it to that list.

True fans know about the history of the game. But for those who just got into baseball, it can be confusing to figure out which teams are the best of all time.

Whether you are a brand-new fan of the sport or you’ve been watching baseball your entire life, nothing is more exciting than seeing two great teams go at it. But it can be challenging to determine which team is the best in baseball history. To help break it down for you, I’ve picked 6 of the best teams that have ever played the game.

New York Yankees

The New York Yankees have won 27 World Series titles, more than any other franchise in baseball. The Yankees dominated baseball in the 1920s and 1930s, winning eight world championships during that period. They were led by Babe Ruth and Lou Gehrig. After a brief period of struggles, they were once again championship contenders in the 1940s and 1950s behind Joe DiMaggio and Mickey Mantle. The Yankees continued to win championships into the new millennium and are still one of the most popular teams in all of sports.

Los Angeles Dodgers

The Los Angeles Dodgers team of the early 1950s won the National League pennant five years in a row, but failed to capture the World Series title in each of those seasons. That changed in 1955, when Brooklyn finally brought home the title. Then they did it again in 1956 and 1957, making them one of the most dominant teams in baseball history.

The Dodgers’ roster was a who’s who of all-time greats: Jackie Robinson, Roy Campanella, Gil Hodges and Pee Wee Reese were among the top players on those squads. But the pitching staff was just as impressive. Hall-of-Fame lefty Sandy Koufax was the ace, but he got plenty of help from teammates Johnny Podres and Don Newcombe, both of whom won 20 games during those three championship seasons.

Boston Red Sox

The Boston Red Sox are an American professional baseball team based in Boston, Massachusetts. The Red Sox compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) East division. The Red Sox have won nine World Series championships, tied for the third-most of any MLB team, and they have played in 13. Their most recent appearance and win was in 2018. In addition, they won the 1904 American League pennant, but were not able to defend their 1903 World Series championship when the New York Giants refused to participate in the 1904 World Series. Founded in 1901 as one of the American League’s eight charter franchises, the Red Sox’ home ballpark has been Fenway Park since 1912. The “Red Sox” name was chosen by the team owner, John I. Taylor, circa 1908, following the lead of previous teams that had been known as the “Boston Red Stockings”, including the forerunner of the Atlanta Braves.

The Red Sox have played 2,427 games and made 11 appearances in the postseason as of 2018. In those seasons, their combined record is 1,279–1,148 (.526). They have won eight pennants (1903, 1912, 1915, 1916, 1918, 2004, 2007 and 2013)

Houston Astros

The Houston Astros are an American professional baseball team based in Houston, Texas. The Astros compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) West division, having moved to the division in 2013 after spending their first 51 seasons in the National League (NL). The Astros have played their home games at Minute Maid Park since 2000.

The Houston Astros have had their share of ups and downs, but that all changed in 2017. After a World Series victory over the Los Angeles Dodgers, the Astros are officially one of the best teams in baseball.

It’s probably not the most famous team of all time, but the 2017 Houston Astros were one of the best. In fact, they were so good that many people are questioning whether or not it was all due to skill.

A lot of questions surrounded this team this past year when it was discovered that they had been using a camera in center field to steal signs from the other teams and relay them to their hitters. Even though this is not allowed in baseball, the Astros weren’t penalized for it and were allowed to keep going on their way.

Atlanta Braves

The Atlanta Braves are one of the most storied franchises in MLB. They have won 14 division titles, three National League pennants and a World Series championship.

The Braves have a great history of success, but before they moved to Atlanta in 1966, they were known as the Milwaukee Braves. The franchise was founded in 1871 as the Boston Red Stockings and was later known as the Boston Bees, Boston Braves and Milwaukee Braves.

In 36 seasons in Atlanta, the Braves have made the playoffs 14 times and won seven division titles. They have a World Series victory (1995), two National League pennants (1991, 1995) and 10 division titles.

The team’s all-time leaders include Hank Aaron, Tom Glavine and Greg Maddux with 755 home runs, 305 wins and 355 wins respectively. The franchise’s all-time winningest managers are Bobby Cox with 2,149 wins and Fred Haney with 669.

San Francisco Giants

The San Francisco Giants are a professional baseball team based in San Francisco, California. Founded in 1883 as the New York Gothams, and renamed three years later to the New York Giants, the team eventually moved to San Francisco in 1958.

The Giants compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the National League (NL) West division. As one of the longest-established and most successful professional baseball teams, the franchise has won the most games of any team in the history of American baseball. The team was the first major league team based in New York City, most memorably playing at the legendary Polo Grounds. They have won 23 NL pennants and have played in 20 World Series competitions – both NL records. The Giants’ eight World Series championships rank second in the National League and are tied for fourth overall (behind only the New York Yankees (27), St. Louis Cardinals (11) and Oakland Athletics (9)). The Giants have played in the World Series 20 times – 14 times in New York, six in San Francisco – but boycotted the event in 1904.

St. Louis Cardinals

The St. Louis Cardinals are an American professional baseball team based in St. Louis, Missouri. The Cardinals compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the National League (NL) Central division.

The Cardinals have won 11 World Series championships, more than any other NL team and second in MLB only to the New York Yankees. The team has won 19 National League pennants and 14 division titles in the East and Central divisions.

As one of the most successful franchises in baseball history, the Cardinals boast 18 members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame as players or managers, while four others were elected as executives, including former owner August Busch Jr., former general manager Bing Devine, and long-time team president (and current controlling owner) Bill DeWitt Jr.